Гавриил Беляк. Назад к Мифу

Также в рубрике Эссе:

Гавриил Беляк. Назад к Мифу
Гавриил Беляк. Назад к Мифу

I

Прекрасно описанную Камилем Галеевым историю про конфликт двух типов элит: земских (Barons) и придворных (Courtiers) — можно рассматривать как частный пример функционирования двух конкурирующих, но взаимосвязанных типов капитала: материального и символического (или, если угодно, символического первого порядка (деньги) и символического второго порядка (власть), и так далее). При этом понятно, что социальные иерархии, в которых осуществляется перераспределение ренты, могут быть основаны на обоих этих типах капитала и природа власти, стекающей по ступеням жертвенной пирамиды и определяющей стратегии борьбы за более выгодные места в ее внутренней иерархии, имеет всегда смешанную природу.

Такая оптика позволяет по-новому взглянуть на переход от автократической системы к тоталитарной, о различных признаках которого недавно говорил Юдин. В качестве основного сигнала такой трансформации он называет разрешение на создание новых горизонтальных структур, которым позволено производство идеологии “снизу”.

Причины такого перехода могут быть поняты ”экономически”. Когда материальные ресурсы, контроль над которыми распределяется через систему кормлений вниз по пирамиде бесконечно разросшейся придворной власти, состоящей из тысяч чиновников, начинают иссякать, верхушке иерархии для сохранения привычного уровня “комфорта” необходимо начать урезать потоки, идущие на нижние этажи (в частности, к баронам)

Однако недовольные суб-элитные группы являются прямой угрозой для придворной верхушки, и для того, чтобы сохранить свое положение, ей нужно им что-то предложить.

Этим чем-то оказывается право на создание новых иерархий, построенных уже не столько на распределении материального капитала, сколько на распределении капитала символического. В новых иерархиях им дается право занимать верхние позиции, а находящимся под ними даются новые стратегии конкуренции. Теперь уже не за материальные блага, которых больше нет, а за символический статус.

Пионеры, комсомол, казаки, дворовые бригады и дружины — все это характерные примеры таких новообразований, позволяющих системе сохранять устойчивость, переводя капитал в область символического. Внутри новых пирамид начинают возникать новые модели борьбы за ресурс, теперь уже символический, и новые признаки статуса: погоны, повязки, значки, галстуки, доски почета и т. д.

К счастью, такой переход невозможен вне мощного идеологического и мифологического проекта, способного производить новый символический капитал.

II

О мифологической подложке русского зиккурата и ее историософских основаниях написано немало, как самими служителями этого апокалиптического культа (начиная с самого фараона и его придворных и заканчивая различными полубезумными жрецами), так и его и исследователями и вивисекторами.

Оставляя за скобками подробный разбор ключевых мифологем, мне хочется указать на принципиальную связанность их внутренних форм и порождаемых ими социоэкономических моделей перераспределения символических капиталов любого порядка.

Недавние герои Невзорова — каннибалы, чье пищевое поведение он так вкусно и со знанием дела описывал, существуют в такой мифологической или, точнее, космологической модели, в рамках которой их поведение не просто логично, но сообразно внутренней форме основного или генеративного мифа их сообщества.

Мы знаем , что в традиционных обществах движение вверх по ступеням социальной иерархии связано с обновлением статуса, требующим осуществление специальных “обрядов перехода”. Для того чтобы мальчик мог стать мужчиной, охотником, ему нужно совершить символическое действие, которым, в зависимости от протомифолoгемы племени (от предания о его волшебном предке) может быть как поедание мозга врага, так и, например, подвешивание себя на крюках за кожу на спине.

Но связь различных продуцентных мифов с логикой смены статуса можно проследить и в более развитых обществах, причем даже на макроуровне.

Так, в русской истории многократно воспроизводит себя фольклорная модель пересечения границы миров и добывания волшебного артефакта, орудия, атрибута. Это и призвание варягов, и две женитьбы князя Владимира — на варяжской по происхождению княжне Рогнеде и византийской царевне Анне (как раз со второй женитьбы начинается злополучный крымский миф русской истории), и европейское путешествие Петра.

Впрочем, понятно, что это лишь одна из таких мифо-логик.

Кстати, и недавнее меткое наблюдение Камиля о бессознательном воспроизведении травестированного образа Врага можно проинтерпретировать как изнаночный вариант того же сюжета, в котором добытый “там” артефакт, будучи атрибутом чудовища, “здесь” становиться атрибутом обновленного статуса героя (например, шкура немейского льва).

Влияние внутренней формы мифа на свойства порождаемой им системы не ограничивается механизмом продвижения по ее иерархии, но распространяется и на другие ее свойства. Воспроизводя на всех этажах модель, заданную собственной вершиной (будь то волшебный предок, мифологический герой, пророк или просто правитель), элементы системы во всех своих взаимосвязях стремятся воспроизвести ее (вершины) свойства и стратегии.

Вспоминается недавнее замечание Арестовича (между прочим, см. внутреннюю форму имени: Арес — бог войны) о принципиальном отличии партизанской логики организации украинских отрядов, способных распускаться и вновь собираться сколько угодно раз, от строгой вертикальной иерархии российских войск, теряющих свою боеспособность при устранении руководящей воли.

Это напоминает размышления Вяч.Иванова о Легионе и Соборности как двух принципиально разных способах организации элементов в системы. Кстати, тоже любопытный перевёртыш. Статья написана во время Первой Мировой и противопоставляет немецкую машинность православной органике. В духе ивановского противопоставления можно истолковать и вообще всю нынешнюю ситуацию. Применительно к современной России, содержащей в себе самой возможности обоих путей, эту идею прекрасно развивает Пастухов.

О столкновении двух исторических мифо-моделей славянской культуры, воплощенных в конфликтующих политических системах, пишут сегодня как идеологи режима, говорящие об анти-России, так и люди несколько более образованные, говорящие о противостоянии Руси Московской, наследовавшей черты ордынской государственности, и Руси Литвской, скорее связанной с европейской феодальной моделью. Было бы красиво указать на противостояние мифа о Змееборце (Георгий Победоносец на гербе Московского княжества) с прото-христианским мифом о страдающем божестве, но, по крайней мере, на уровне официальной геральдики это не проходит (герб ВКЛ — Погоня).

Сейчас важен не конкретный разбор актуализирующихся сегодня мифов, а общее указание на возможность интерпретации национальных и шире — цивилизационных конфликтов как результатов противостояния лежащих в их основании продуцентных мифологем. Как столкновений не только государств, но и их Культурных Героев.

III

Развернувшийся в европейской культуре ХХ века постструктуралистский, постколониальный, либеральный, постмодерный тренд на борьбу с мифологией, который корнями уходит в Проект Просвещения, сегодня стоит признать провальным.

И дело не только в самом факте повторения невыученных уроков XX века, и не только в том, что этот чудовищный повтор успешно оправдывает себя позавчерашними мифологемами.

Левиафан тоталитаризма не просто не тонет, но и берет приемы деконструкции на вооружение. Он строит свою пропаганду на четко усвоенных приемах эстетики постмодерна.

В конечном счете и саму постструктурную, постколониальную критику сегодня можно отчетливо увидеть как производную от мифа. Это значит, что оружие способное победить дракона, может быть найдено лишь в области актуализации иных альтернативных продуцирующих мифологем.

В столкновении славянофилов и западников глупо вставать на сторону Запада: это борьба уже не раз проиграна. Чудовище империи успешно пересобирается, отращивая новые ядерные боеголовки.

Оружие нужно искать в его собственном логове в области мифа.

Однако страх рационализма перед мифологией, его нежелание к ней прибегать (или страх признаваться в себе в этом) возникает не на пустом месте.

Для того чтобы своими руками не заменить одного дракона другим, нужно предельно ясно понимать все последствия применения того или иного оружия.

В нашем распоряжении огромный культурный арсенал: от древней Ладоги до вечевого Новгорода, от Свободной Ингрии до, не дай Бог, Гипербореи, от Олега Вещего до Александра III, от Петра I до Александра Пушкина, от богостроительства до богоискательства, от баньки с пауками до бескрайнего простора.

Но глядя сегодня на совершенные нашей культурой роковые ошибки, важно помнить, что в поиске культурных героев и мифов, на которых может строиться новая русская мечта, ориентироваться мы должны не только на их узнаваемость, продаваемость, трендовость, но и на то, какие стратегии и практики распределения символических капиталов в социоэкономической иерархии окажуться построены по их подобию и на их основе.

Вот, впрочем, уже и неточный оборот. Миф в этом здании скорее камень замковый, нежели краеугольный.

 
Русский текст первоначально опубликован в Syg.ma.
 

Об Авторе:

Гавриил Беляк
Гавриил Беляк
Санкт-Петербург, Россия

Младший научный сотрудник Пушкинского дома. Окончил аспирантуру кафедры Истории русской литературы филологического факультета СПбГУ в 2016. Сфера научных интересов: герменевтика, мифопоэтика, теория мифа, литературный процесс, digital humanites.

Поделиться в facebook
Поделиться в twitter
Поделиться в telegram
Поделиться в email
Gavriil Belyak Гавриил Беляк.
Книжная полка
Виктор Енютин

Сборник стихов Виктора Енютина, русского поэта и прозаика, проживающего в Сиэтле. Енютин эмигрировал из СССР в 1975. Издательство «Кубик» (Сан Франциско, 1983).

 

Анна Крушельницкая

В этом сборнике эссе автор из России и США пишет о советском и постсоветском: сакральном, обыденном, мало обсуждаемом и часто упускаемом из виду. Какими были советские школьные танцы? Ходили ли советские люди в церковь? Слушали ли Донну Саммер? И как вообще можно завивать волосы горячей вилкой?

Видеоматериалы
Проигрывать видео
Poetry Reading in Honor of Brodsky’s 81st Birthday
Продолжительность: 1:35:40
Проигрывать видео
The Café Review Poetry Reading in Russian and in English
Продолжительность: 2:16:23

Gavriil Belyak. Back to the Myth.

Also in Essays:

Gavriil Belyak. Back to the Myth.
Gavriil Belyak. Back to the Myth.

 
Kamil Galeyev’s story of the conflict between two types of elites – the landed elites (Barons) and the courtiers (Courtiers) – can be seen as a particular example of the functioning of two competing but interrelated types of capital: material and symbolic (or, if you like, symbolic first-order (money) and symbolic second-order (power). It is clear, however, that the social hierarchies in which rents are redistributed can be based on both of these types of capital, and the nature of power flowing down the steps of the sacrificial pyramid and determining strategies of a struggle for more profitable places in its internal hierarchy is always of a mixed nature.

Such an optic allows us to take a new look at the transition from an autocratic system to a totalitarian one, the various signs of which Yudin recently spoke about. As the main signal of this transformation, he cites the permission to create new horizontal structures that are allowed to produce ideology “from below”.

The reasons for this transition can be understood economically. When material resources, the control over which is distributed through a system of feeding down the pyramid of endlessly sprawling court power, consisting of thousands of officials, begin to run out, the top of the hierarchy must begin to cut the flows going to the lower floors (in particular, to the Barons) to maintain their usual level of comfort.

But disgruntled sub-elite groups are a direct threat to the Court which, in order to keep its position, needs to offer something to them.

This something turns out to be the right to create new hierarchies, built not so much on the distribution of material capital as on the distribution of symbolic capital. In these new hierarchies, they are given the right to occupy the top positions, while those below them are given new strategies of competition – this time not for material goods, which no longer exist, but for symbolic status.

Pioneers, Komsomol, Cossacks, neighborhood brigades, and druzhiny are all characteristic examples of such new formations, which allow the system to remain stable by transferring the capital to the symbolic realm. Within the new pyramids, new models of the struggle for resources, now symbols, and new signs of status begin to emerge: shoulder straps, armbands, badges, neckties, boards of honor, etc.

Fortunately, such a transition is impossible outside a powerful ideological and mythological project capable of producing new symbolic capital.

II

Much has been written about the mythological background of the Russian ziggurat and its historiosophic foundations, both by the servants of this apocalyptic cult (starting with the pharaoh himself and his courtiers and ending with the half-mad priests) and by its researchers and vivisectors.

Leaving aside a detailed analysis of key mythologies, I would like to point out the fundamental connection between their inner forms and the socioeconomic models of redistribution of symbolic capitals of any order generated by them.

Nevzorov’s recent heroes, the cannibals, whose eating behavior he so deliciously and expertly described, exist in such a mythological or, more precisely, cosmological model within which their behavior is not simply logical, but corresponds to the inner form of the main or generative myth of their community.

We know that in traditional societies moving up the ranks of the social hierarchy is associated with a renewal of status requiring the performance of special rites of passage. For a boy to become a man, a hunter, he must perform a symbolic action, which, depending on the proto-mythologem of the tribe (from the legend of his magical ancestor) could be eating the brain of the enemy or, for example, hanging himself up on hooks by the skin on his back.

But the connection of various procreative myths with the logic of status change can also be traced in more developed societies, even at the macro level.

Thus, in Russian history, the folklore model of crossing the border between two worlds and obtaining a magical artifact, tool, or symbolic attribute is repeated many times. Examples are the calling of the Varangians, the two marriages of Prince Vladimir – to Princess Rogneda, a Varangian by birth, and to the Byzantine Princess Anna (this second marriage begins the unfortunate Crimean myth of Russian history), as well as Peter’s European journey.

However, this is only one such myth-logic.

Incidentally, Camille’s recent observation about the unconscious reproduction of the travesty image of the Enemy can also be interpreted as a reverse version of the same plot, in which the artifact obtained “over there, on the other side”, where it is an attribute of the monster, becomes an attribute of the hero’s renewed status (for example, the skin of the Nemean lion) “here”.

The influence of the internal form of myth on the properties of the system it generates is not limited to the mechanism of advancement in its hierarchy but extends to its other properties as well. Reproducing on all floors the model set by its own apex (be it a magical ancestor, a mythological hero, a prophet, or simply a ruler), the elements of the system in all their interrelations strive to reproduce its (the vertex’s) properties and strategies.

I recall Arestovich’s recent remark (by the way, note the structure of the name: Ares is the god of war) about the fundamental difference between the guerrilla logic of the organization of Ukrainian detachments, which can disband and reconvene as many times as desired, and the strict vertical hierarchy of Russian troops, which lose their combat effectiveness when the guiding will is removed.

This reminds me of Vyacheslav Ivanov’s reflections on the Legion and Sobornost’ as two fundamentally different ways of organizing elements in systems. By the way, here is another curious shift. The article was written during the First World War and contrasts the German “machine mentality” with the Russian Orthodox “organic mentality”. The entire current situation can be interpreted in the spirit of Ivanov’s opposition. In the context of contemporary Russia, which contains within itself the possibility of both paths, this idea is beautifully developed by Pastukhov.

The clash of the two historical myth-models of the Slavic culture, embodied in conflicting political systems, is written today both by regime ideologists who speak of anti-Russia, and by somewhat more educated people who speak of the opposition between the Moscow Rus’, which inherited features of the Horde statehood, and the Lithuanian Rus’, which is closer to the European feudal model. It would be lovely to point out the opposition between the myth of the serpent-bearer (Saint George on the coat of arms of the Moscow principality) and the proto-Christian myth of the suffering deity, but it doesn’t work, at least not at the level of official heraldry (e.g., he Hunt on the coat of arms of the GDL).

What is important now is not a specific analysis of the myths actualizing today, but a general indication of the possibility of interpreting national and more broadly civilizational conflicts as the results of the opposition of the underlying derivative mythologemes – as clashes not only of states but also of their Cultural Heroes.

III

The post-structuralist, post-colonial, liberal, and post-modern trend in European culture in the twentieth century toward the struggle with mythology, which has its roots in the Enlightenment Project, should be recognized as a failure.

This is not only about the repetition of the unlearned lessons of the 20th century, not only that this monstrous repetition successfully justifies itself with the mythologemes of the day before yesterday.

The Leviathan of totalitarianism not only does not sink but also adopts the techniques of deconstruction. It builds its propaganda on the well-absorbed techniques of postmodern aesthetics.

Ultimately, poststructuralist, postcolonial critique itself can be seen today as a derivative of myth. This means that the weapon capable of defeating the dragon can only be found in the actualization of other alternative-producing mythologies.

In the clash between Slavophiles and Westerners, it is foolish to side with the West: this fight has already been lost more than once. The monster of the empire is successfully reassembling itself, growing new nuclear warheads.

Weapons that kill it must be sought in its own lair in the realm of the myth.

But rationalism’s fear of mythology, its reluctance to resort to it (or its fear of admitting this reluctance), does not arise out of nothing.

In order not to replace one dragon with another with our own hands, we need to be very clear about the consequences of using one weapon or another.

We have a huge cultural arsenal at our disposal: from ancient Ladoga to Novgorod veche, from Free Ingria to, God forbid, Hyperborea, from Veshyi Oleg to Alexander III, from Peter the Great to Alexander Pushkin, from God-building to God-seeking, from a bathhouse with spiders to the endless expanse.

But in looking at the fatal mistakes made by our culture today, it is important to remember that in the search for cultural heroes and myths, on which the new Russian dream might be built, we should focus not only on their recognizability, marketability, and trendiness but also on what strategies and practices of symbolic capital distribution in the socio-economic hierarchy will turn out to be built on them and their likeness.

Here, however, is already an inaccurate turn of phrase. Myth in this building is more of a capstone than a cornerstone.
 

The original (in Russian) was published in Syg.ma on April 5, 2022. The English version is published for the first time.
 

About the Author:

Gavriil Belyak
Gavriil Belyak
St. Petersburg, Russia

Currently, an associate researcher at the Pushkin House, Gavriil Belyak graduated from the Department of the History of Russian Literature at the Faculty of Philology, St. Petersburg State University, 2016. Research interests: hermeneutics, mythopoetics, myth theory, literary process, digital humanities.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on telegram
Share on email
Gavriil Belyak Гавриил Беляк.
Bookshelf
by Victor Enyutin

A book of poems in Russian by Victor Enyutin (San Francisco, 1983). Victor  Enyutin is a Russian writer, poet, and sociologist who emigrated to the US from the Soviet Union in 1975.

by Anna Krushelnitskaya

This collection of personal essays by a bi-national Russian/U.S. author offers glimpses into many things Soviet and post-Soviet: the sacred, the profane, the mundane, the little-discussed and the often-overlooked. What was a Soviet school dance like? Did communists go to church? Did communists listen to Donna Summer? If you want to find out, read on!

by Anna Krushelnitskaya

“Cold War Casual” is a collection of transcribed oral testimony and interviews translated from Russian into English and from English into Russian that delve into the effect of the events and the government propaganda of the Cold War era on regular citizens of countries on both sides of the Iron Curtain.

by Julia Wiener

Julia Wiener was born in the USSR a few years before the Second World War; her youth was spent during the “Thaw” period, and her maturity coincided with the years of “Soviet stagnation”, which, in her case, ended with her emigration to Israel in the early 1970s. Her wartime childhood, her Komsomol-student youth, her subsequent disillusionment, her meetings with well-known writers (Andrei Platonov, Victor Nekrasov, etc.) are described in a humorous style and colorful detail. Julia brings to life colorful characters – from her Moscow communal apartment neighbors to a hippie London lord, or an Arab family, headed by a devotee of classical Russian literature. No less diverse are the landscapes against which the events unfold: the steppes of Kazakhstan, the Garden of Gethsemane, New York, Amsterdam, London.

by Julia Wiener

Julia Wiener’s novels focus on those moments when illusory human existence collapses in the face of true life, be it spiritual purity, love, old age, or death.

by Nina Kossman

A collection of poems in Russian. Published by Khudozhestvennaya literatura. Moscow, 1990.

Videos
Play Video
Poetry Reading in Honor of Brodsky’s 81st Birthday
Length: 1:35:40
Play Video
The Café Review Poetry Reading in Russian and in English
Length: 2:16:23