Яша Спектор. Сфоткай меня красиво

Также в рубрике Проза:

405807749_1346077339602356_5658784402248939515_n
Фото из архива автора
Яша Спектор. Сфоткай меня красиво

 
По субботам, фэйсбучая лента богата фотографиями, нащелканными подругами предыдущей ночью. Вечеринки, рестораны, встречи с подружками, прогулки по центральному парку. Девочки, давайте сфоткаемся! Все послушно разворачиваются в сторону нацеленного телефона, становятся ракурсом, отточенным на тысячах таких же остановись-мгновений, улыбаются широко, счастливо…

Думаете, я сейчас начну фэйковые улыбки ругать или громить инстаграмные тарелки с отфильтрованными десертами или вспоминать, как раньше, мы во дворе — в футбол, а теперь, они — в экран? Нее, не буду, просто поделюсь одной мыслишкой:

Вот у бабушки моей были две фотографии — свадебная и сделанная в фотоателье в Кисловодске, куда её по путевке профсоюза отмечать завершение трудового стажа отправили. На обеих карточках, бабуся солидна, руки сложены на коленях, лицо смотрит в камеру. Выражение лица — как у депутатов из телевизора. Человек напряжен, собран перед нацеленным на него чёрным оком, которое, мигнув разок, совершает противоестественное — вырывает из времени двухмерного призрака, который еще долго будет стоять на книжной полке — картонная плоть от плоти своей хозяйки, теплой, дышащей, стареющей, живущей.

Бабушка умерла, а немногие её фотографии остались. Как и положено призракам, они смотрят на живых немигающим, мёртвым взглядом — сама она так никогда бы не посмотрела. Хорошо, что их немного — как раз достаточно, чтобы вспомнить как она примерно выглядела. Хорошо, что она глядит с них как с доски почета — труднее поверить, что эти фотки хоть как-то могут передать её живую, дышащую, плывущую по течению времени.

От нее до нас — гагарин, интернет, инстаграм. Утро каждой субботы богато фотографиями, нащелканными подругами предыдущей ночью — их больше, чем бабушка видала за всю свою долгую жизнь. Девочки, давайте сфоткаемся! У каждой девочки отложились многие тысячи её фотографий — двухмерных призраков, картонных макетов, претендующих на сходство с живой, теплой, дышащей хозяйкой. Она помогает им: выгодным ракурсом, отточено-искренней улыбкой. Тысячи кадров, на которых она выглядит максимально достоверно, тысячи микросрезов выходных, отпусков, просто обычных дней — и вот из них возникает её доппельгангер, почти трехмерный, почти живой, до одури похожий на оригинал, улыбающийся тебе широкой, счастливой улыбкой из фэйсбука. А после того, как она доплывет по течению времени, этот фото-фантазм станет нагло утверждать, что именно так она всегда и улыбалась, что все эти вечеринки, рестораны, тарелки на инстаграме и были её настоящей жизнью.
И, наверное, будет прав.

Об Авторе:

yasha spektor
Яша Спектор
Филадельфия, США

Яша Спектор родился в Краснодаре в 1978-м году. Ребенком жил в Грузии. В возрасте 13-и лет переехал в Нью-Йорк. Учился в Нью-Йоркском Университете, затем в Бруклинской Школе Юриспруденции. Полностью двуязычен; пишет короткие рассказы. Живет в Филадельфии с женой и стаей котов.

Yasha Spector Яша Спектор
Книжная полка
Илья Перельмутер (редактор)

Международный электронный журнал русской поэзии в переводах. В каждом номере публикуются поэтические тексты на иностранных языках.

 

Илья Эренбург

Подборка поэзии Эренбурга, впервые изданная на английском языке. Переводы Анны Крушельницкой.

William Conelly

Сборник детских стихов.
«West of Boston» —  стихи для детей с очаровательными иллюстрациями художницы Нади Косман. Стихи для детей написаны поэтом Уильямом Конелли. На английском.

Мария Галина

Седьмой сборник стихов Марии Галиной, завершенный ровно за день до начала российского вторжения в Украину. Двуязычное издание; переводы Анны Хальберштадт и Эйнсли Морс.

book cover galina 700x500 431792346_806631041304850_1823687868413913719_n
Александр Кабанов

Первый двуязычный сборник стихов Александра Кабанова, одного из крупнейших поэтов Украины, предоставляет читателю возможность ознакомиться со стихами, предсказывавшими — а ныне и констатирующими — российскую агрессию против Украины.

Юлия Фридман

Сборник стихотворений Юлии Фридман.

«Я давно читаю стихи Юлии Фридман и давно ими восхищаюсь». (Владимир Богомяков, поэт)

Видеоматериалы
Проигрывать видео
Poetry Reading in Honor of Brodsky’s 81st Birthday
Продолжительность: 1:35:40
Проигрывать видео
The Café Review Poetry Reading in Russian and in English
Продолжительность: 2:16:23

Also in Prose:

shoot me pretty
Photo from the author's archives
Yasha Spektor. Shoot Me Pretty

 
On Saturdays, the Facebook feed overflows with snapshots of friends’ escapades from the night before. It’s a parade of parties, eateries, gal pals’ gatherings, strolls in Central Park. “Hey girls, let’s do a photo!” Instantly, all turn towards the lens’ gaze, adopting angles honed through countless similar freeze-frame moments, their smiles wide, brimming with joy…

Now, you might think I’m about to rant at those feigned grins or rail against Instagram’s filtered dessert plates, or wax nostalgic about our days of football in the yard versus their lives of scrolling at the screens? No. Rather, let me share a little thought:

My granny, she had just two photographs – her wedding pic and one from a photo studio in Kislovodsk, a union-sponsored trip marking her retirement. In each photo, granny’s poised, hands neatly atop her lap, staring straight at the lens. Her look? Think State Assembly yearbook. A figure tense, composed, confronting the camera’s black eye, which, with a single blink, performs something unnatural – cuts out a two-dimensional ghost from the fabric of time, a cardboard echo of its warm, breathing, aging, living counterpart.

Granny’s gone, but those few photos linger. As befits specters, they gaze at the living with an unblinking, dead stare – a gaze she’d never own in life. It’s a blessing, really, that only a handful exist – just enough to remember what she roughly looked like. It’s good that they look as if they escaped from an “Employee of the Month” stand – it’s harder to believe that these images could truly capture her – alive, breathing, flowing with the current of time.

All things shall pass – from her to us – gagarin, internet, instagram. Every Saturday morning is rich with photos taken the night before, a single night’s catch outnumbering what granny saw in her entire life. “Hey girls, let’s do a photo!” Each girl has amassed thousands of them – two-dimensional specters, cardboard cutouts, claiming resemblance to their living, warm, breathing owner. She assists them: with a flattering angle, a fine-tuned genuine smile. Thousands of frames where she looks as authentic as possible, thousands of micro-slices of weekends, vacations, just ordinary days – and from these emerges her doppelgänger, almost three-dimensional, nearly lifelike, insanely similar to the original, smiling at you with a wide, happy Facebook smile. And once she drifts off with the current of time, this photo-phantasm will brazenly claim that that’s how she always smiled, that all these parties, restaurants, insta-plates was all that there was of her life.

And, he will probably be right.

 
_______________________________
 
Self-translation from Russian

About the Author:

yasha spektor (1)
Yasha Spektor
Philadelphia, PA

Yasha Spektor was born in the Soviet Union in 1978, lived in Georgia (the country), and moved to New York when he was 13 years old. Studied History at NYU; then – dark arts at Brooklyn Law School. Writes short stories in Russian and English, but mostly in Russian. Lives in Philadelphia with his wife and 4 cats.

Yasha Spector Яша Спектор
Bookshelf
by Ilya Perelmuter (editor)

Launched in 2012, “Four Centuries” is an international electronic magazine of Russian poetry in translation.

by Ilya Ehrenburg

Ilya Ehrenburg (1891–1967) was one of the most prolific Russian writers of the twentieth century.  Babi Yar and Other Poems, translated by Anna Krushelnitskaya, is a representative selection of Ehrenburg’s poetry, available in English for the first time.

by William Conelly

Young readers will love this delightful work of children’s verse by poet William Conelly, accompanied by Nadia Kossman’s imaginative, evocative illustrations.

by Maria Galina

A book of poems by Maria Galina, put together and completed exactly one day before the start of the Russian invasion of Ukraine. This is Galina’s seventh book of poems. With translations by Anna Halberstadt and Ainsley Morse.

book cover galina 700x500 431792346_806631041304850_1823687868413913719_n
by Aleksandr Kabanov

The first bilingual (Russian-English) collection of poems by Aleksandr Kabanov, one of Ukraine’s major poets, “Elements for God” includes poems that predicted – and now chronicle – Russia’s aggression against Ukraine.

by Yulia Fridman

A book of poems by Yulia Fridman.

“I have been reading Yulia Fridman’s poems for a long time and have admired them for a long time.” (Vladimir Bogomyakov, poet)

Videos
Three Questions. A Documentary by Vita Shtivelman
Play Video
Poetry Reading in Honor of Brodsky’s 81st Birthday
Length: 1:35:40