Михаил Косман. Притяжение

Также в рубрике Поэзия:

1. a la Roerich
Нина Косман "...и за скалами эхо припрятано"
Михаил Косман. Притяжение

 
Не тревожь тишины, не буди ее звуками смутными,

Есть закон глубины, незаметный, забытый меж буднями:

В каждом темном углу, в каждом гулком ущельи впечатана

Отраженная глубь, и за скалами эхо припрятано.

Если неба не видно тебе — не ищи ты решения;

В самой глуби колодца найдешь лишь свое отражение.

Не видавший вершин, не зови с собой в горы за призраком,

А видавший — молчи, ибо эхо обрушится выстрелом.
 
 
GRAVITATION
 
Do not disturb the silence, do not awaken it with meaningless noise,

There is a law of the deep, unnoticed, forgotten in everyday life:

In every dark corner, in every rumbling gorge, a reflected depth

Is imprinted, and an echo is hidden behind the cliffs.

If you cannot see the sky, do not look for a solution;

You will find only your own reflection in the depths of the well.

If you haven’t seen the peaks, do not go in search of a ghost in the mountains,

If you have seen them, be silent, for an echo will come back as a shot.
 

Нью-Йорк, 1978

Об Авторе:

2 mika001-222
Михаил Косман
Нью-Йорк, США

Михаил Косман (Michael Kossman), поэт, прозаик, литературовед. Родился в Москве. В Москве окончил школу, начал учёбу в институте. Эмигрировал в 1972 году. Прожил около года в Израиле. С 1973 года жил в США: сначала в Кливленде, где его отец преподавал в университете, потом в Нью-Йорке. Окончил Колумбийский университет со степенью магистра. Писал стихи и рассказы, но отказывался их публиковать; не хотел хранить свои произведения, поэтому почти все его стихи, рассказы и роман «Каин и Авель» потеряны. Переводил стихи Йейтса (с английского) и Германа Гессе (с немецкого) на русский. Автор исследований о «Мастере и Маргарите» Булгакова и о неоконченном романе Замятина «Бич божий». После его ухода рукописи некоторых его стихов были обнаружены сестрой и опубликованы. Он был не только  глубоким, сильным поэтом и писателем, но и уникальным мыслителем. Он так ясно видел окружающий мир и своё будущее, что в своих ранних стихах смог предсказать свой преждевременный уход. Он ушел из жизни в ту же ночь и в то же самое время, что и его отец (22 января 2010).

Michael Kossman Михаил Косман
Книжная полка
Осип Мандельштам

Этот сборник, составленный, переведенный и отредактированный поэтом и переводчиком Яном Пробштейном, предлагает англоязычной аудитории подборку самых любимых стихотворений Осипа Мандельштама (1891-1938).

Kristina Gorcheva-Newberry

Четыре подростка становятся неразлучными в последние дни существования Советского Союза, но не все из них доживут до наступления нового мира в этом дебютном романе, написанном по мотивам «Вишневого сада» Антона Чехова.

Марк Будман

В потерянной подушке спрятан жемчуг, который, кроме всего прочего, может быть ингредиентом эликсира молодости. Толкователь снов и болезней по прозвищу Деда, очаровательная мошенница Пенелопа и и ее невежественный приятель Петр борятся за обладание жемчугом и, соответственно, подушкой. Еще несколько человеческих и не очень человеческих существ готовы за него убить. Каждый герой этих двадцати двух взаимосвязанных рассказов — иммигрант из реальных или воображаемых миров. (Магический реализм/рассказы об иммигрантах.)

 

Виктор Енютин

Сборник стихов Виктора Енютина, русского поэта и прозаика, проживающего в Сиэтле. Енютин эмигрировал из СССР в 1975. Издательство «Кубик» (Сан Франциско, 1983).

 

Анна Крушельницкая

В этом сборнике эссе автор из России и США пишет о советском и постсоветском: сакральном, обыденном, мало обсуждаемом и часто упускаемом из виду. Какими были советские школьные танцы? Ходили ли советские люди в церковь? Слушали ли Донну Саммер? И как вообще можно завивать волосы горячей вилкой?

Нина Косман

Сборник стихотворений. Издательство «Художественная литература». Москва: 1990.

Видеоматериалы
Проигрывать видео
Poetry Reading in Honor of Brodsky’s 81st Birthday
Продолжительность: 1:35:40
Проигрывать видео
The Café Review Poetry Reading in Russian and in English
Продолжительность: 2:16:23

Michael Kossman. Gravitation
Nina Kossman "....and an echo is hidden behind the cliffs"
Michael Kossman. Gravitation

 
Do not disturb the silence, do not awaken it with meaningless noise,

There is a law of the deep, unnoticed, forgotten in everyday life:

In every dark corner, in every rumbling gorge, a reflected depth

Is imprinted, and an echo is hidden behind the cliffs.

If you cannot see the sky, do not look for a solution;

You will find only your own reflection in the depths of the well.

If you haven’t seen the peaks, do not go in search of a ghost in the mountains;

If you have seen them, be silent, for an echo will come back as a shot.
 
      Translated from Russian by Nina Kossman
 
 
The Original:

ПРИТЯЖЕНИЕ
 
Не тревожь тишины, не буди ее звуками смутными,

Есть закон глубины, незаметный, забытый меж буднями:

В каждом темном углу, в каждом гулком ущельи впечатана

Отраженная глубь, и за скалами эхо припрятано.

Если неба не видно тебе — не ищи ты решения;

В самой глуби колодца найдешь лишь свое отражение.

Не видавший вершин, не зови с собой в горы за призраком,

А видавший — молчи, ибо эхо обрушится выстрелом.
 

New York, 1978

About the Author:

Michael Kossman
Michael Kossman
Born in Moscow, lived in New York

Michael Kossman was a poet, prose writer, translator of poetry from English and German, and literary critic. He was born in Moscow, where he graduated from high school and began his university studies. He emigrated from the USSR in 1972. He spent one year in Israel. In 1973, he arrived in the US, first settling in Cleveland where his father had a college teaching job, then in New York. He graduated from Columbia University with a master’s degree in Russian literature. He wrote amazing poems and short stories but was indifferent to publication and refused to publish his work. Unfortunately, most of his best poems and short stories are lost, as he did not want to keep them. He translated poems by W.B. Yeats (from English) and Hermann Hesse (from German) into Russian. He authored studies on Bulgakov’s “The Master and Margarita” and on Zamyatin’s unfinished novel “The Scourge of God”. He was not only a unique poet and short story writer, but also a thinker, and his thinking often verged on the prophetic. He saw life and death so clearly, that in some of his poems written many years ago, he predicted his own death. He passed away on the same night and at the same time as his father, Jan. 22, 2010. After his passing, his sister found an envelope with a few of his poems and arranged for their publication.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on telegram
Share on email
Michael Kossman Михаил Косман
Bookshelf
by Kristina Gorcheva-Newberry

Four teenagers grow inseparable in the last days of the Soviet Union—but not all of them will live to see the new world arrive in this powerful debut novel, loosely based on Anton Chekhov’s The Cherry Orchard.

 

by Mark Budman

Every character in these twenty-two interlinked stories is an immigrant from a place real or imaginary. (Magic realism/immigrant fiction.)

by Victor Enyutin

A book of poems in Russian by Victor Enyutin (San Francisco, 1983). Victor  Enyutin is a Russian writer, poet, and sociologist who emigrated to the US from the Soviet Union in 1975.

by Anna Krushelnitskaya

This collection of personal essays by a bi-national Russian/U.S. author offers glimpses into many things Soviet and post-Soviet: the sacred, the profane, the mundane, the little-discussed and the often-overlooked. What was a Soviet school dance like? Did communists go to church? Did communists listen to Donna Summer? If you want to find out, read on!

by Anna Krushelnitskaya

“Cold War Casual” is a collection of transcribed oral testimony and interviews translated from Russian into English and from English into Russian that delve into the effect of the events and the government propaganda of the Cold War era on regular citizens of countries on both sides of the Iron Curtain.

by Nina Kossman

A collection of poems in Russian. Published by Khudozhestvennaya literatura. Moscow, 1990.

Videos
Three Questions. A Documentary by Vita Shtivelman
Play Video
Poetry Reading in Honor of Brodsky’s 81st Birthday
Length: 1:35:40